Skip to main content

School of Sciences

Director/ Head of School : Dr. P. K. Sehgal

The School of Science was established in 2012 to impart quality education in various disciplines of science through Open and Distance Learning. The School offers degree courses in B.Sc. with different subject combinations and M.Sc. in Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics, Botany and Zoology programmes. The school has developed its own study material (SLM) for both graduate and post-graduate programmes. The postgraduate programmes are in semester mode. With the firm belief that practical is an essential parts of science education, the different departments of the school organize laboratory workshops other than mandatory counseling at various science study centers of the university to enhance the subject knowledge. The School of Science has become one of the main constituents of the University with a large number of learners.

The functions of the School:

  1. Plan, develop and offer academic programmes at the undergraduate, post-graduate and doctoral levels. 
  2. Collaborate in the development of programmes/ courses with other universities.
  3. Provide learner support using video lecture, radio talks, electronic  media and ICT tools.
  4. Participate in the development and monitoring of student support services.
  5. Organize and participate in workshops, conferences and seminars.

Development of Self-Instructional Study Material (SLM)

The school has developed its own study material (SLM) for both graduate and post-graduate programmes.


  • Departments of Physics
  • Department of Chemistry
  • Department of Mathematics
  • Department of Botany
  • Department of Zoology


The School of Science has highly qualified, experienced, specialized and dedicated faculty, who have obtained postgraduate and research degrees from reputed Indian universities. Some of them have also served other Indian universities with distinction. The faculty keeps themselves abreast with the latest developments in their respective disciplines. The faculty has regularly been participating in seminars and conferences at national and international levels and has carved out a significant niche for themselves in their own fields. The faculty is engaged in front line research besides unit writing, assignments, conducting laboratory workshops and other academic assignments.

Departments of Physics M. Sc. and B. Sc. Physics  Dr. Kamal Devlal Associate Professor
Dr. Vishal Kumar Sharma  Assistant Professor
Dr. Gauri   Assistant Professor
Dr. Rajesh Mathpal  Assistant Professor (AC)
Dr. Meenakshi Rana  Assistant Professor (AC)
Department of Chemistry M. Sc. and B. Sc. Chemistry Dr. Shalini Singh Assistant Professor
Dr. Vinod Kumar Assistant Professor
Dr. Deep Prakash  Assistant Professor 
Dr. Charu Chandra Pant  Assistant Professor (AC)
Dr. Ruchi Pandey Assistant Professor (AC)
Dept. of Mathematics M. Sc. and B. Sc Mathematics Dr. Arvind Bhatt Associate Professor 
Dr. Jyoti Rani Assistant Professor
Ms Shivangi Upadhyay Assistant Professor (AC)
Dr. Kamlesh Bisht Assistant Professor (AC)
Mr. Deepak Kumar Sharma Assistant Professor (AC)
Department of Botany M. Sc. and B. Sc Botany Dr. S. N. Ojha Assistant Professor
Dr. Pooja Juyal Assistant Professor (AC)
Dr. Prabha Bisht Dhaundiyal Assistant Professor (AC)
Dr. Kirtika Padaliya Assistant Professor (AC)
Mr. Pushpesh Joshi Assistant Professor (AC)
Department of Zoology M. Sc. and B. Sc Zoology Dr. Pravesh Kumar Sehgal Associate Professor 
Dr. Shyam Kunjwal Assistant Professor (AC)
Dr. Mukta Joshi Assistant Professor (AC)
Dr. Jaya Upreti Assistant Professor (AC)
Ms. Poornima Nailnwal Assistant Professor (AC)


Programmes Offered in School of Sciences


Doctoral Degree (Ph. D.): In all discipline


Master’s Degree

  1. Master of Science (Physics)  ( MSCPHY)
  2. Master of Science (Chemistry) ( MSCCH)
  3. Master of Science (Mathematics)  ( MSCMT)
  4. Master of Science (Botany)  ( MSCBOT)
  5. Master of Science (Zoology) ( MSCZO )


Bachelor’s Degree

  1. Bachelor of Science  ( BSC)

Single Subject Programme

Bachelor of Science (Single Subject) (BSCS)



Video Gallery

For Administrative enquiries:

Uttarakhand Open University

Behind Transport Nagar, Vishwavidyalaya Marg,
Haldwani (Nainital) 263139 Uttarakhand

Toll Free : 1800 180 4025
Operator : 05946-286000

Admissions : 05946286002

Book Distribution Unit : 05946-286001

Exam Section : 05946-286022

Fax : 05946-264232